Side Ad 1 Side Ad 2 Side Ad 3 Side Ad 4
Marion Times Header
Advertisement Stokes, Liberty fall to Sparks
by Brandon Leonard Correspondent · August 10th, 2017


Linn-Mar alum Kiah Stokes and her New York Liberty suffered a 13-point loss on the road last Friday evening. New York fell back to .500 after a setback to the defending WNBA Champion Los Angeles Sparks.

The Sparks, led by Candace Parker, took control in the third quarter after a tie at halftime. Parker, one of the best to ever lace them up in the WNBA, finished with 24 points and gave Stokes and the rest of the New York posts fits all game long.

Stokes finished with four points and seven rebounds in a little over 22 minutes of play. The defensive star also recorded a steal to help the Liberty cause.

New York still sits in sixth place in the WNBA standings as the race for the WNBA playoffs begins to heat up. The Liberty own a record of 12-12 overall while the win for the Sparks improved their record to 18-7 overall. The Minnesota Lynx own the top spot with a record of 20-3 and have already clinched a playoff berth.

The Liberty was back in action on Tuesday, August 8, at home against the Indiana Fever and look to play Atlanta Dream on Friday, August 11, at 7:30 p.m. ET (6:30 p.m. CT) and then compete against the LA Sparks at home on Sunday, August 13, at 3 p.m. ET (2 p.m. CT).
Contact the Marion Times
808 6th St. Suite 1
Marion, Iowa 52302
P: (319) 377-7037
F: (319) 377-9535
advertising@mariontimesonline.com
news@mariontimesonline.com
MarionToday.org | Marion Times | The Only Newspaper Serving Marion First
News | Sports | Opinions | Obituaries | Robins | Hiawatha | Archives | Business Directory | City News
Like the Marion Times on Facebook
Web Development by Brian McMillin, LLC
News Sports Opinions Obituaries Archives Business Directory City News Marion Times