Side Ad 1
Marion Times Header
Marion City Council Election
by Nancy Grindle Correspondent · October 5th, 2017

City elections will be held on Tuesday, November 7, 2017. Sample ballots will be available on or before Thursday, October 5.

The terms of the following Marion City Council members expire in 2017: Joe Spinks from Ward 2, David Nicholson from Ward 4, and Mary Lou Pazour serving at large. None of the three has filed papers to run in the upcoming election. Council members serve four-year terms.

Two people have filed papers to run for member at-large of the Marion City Council. They are Bruce Cummins of 2665 Greenway Court and Randy Strnad of 1820 Agate Circle.

Two people have filed papers to run for the Ward 2 position currently occupied by Joe Spinks. They are Steven L. Jensen of 3830 Monarch Avenue and Peter D. Johnson of 2385 10th Avenue.

Rene Gadelha, 797 Oak Park Circle, has filed papers to run for the Ward 4 position currently occupied by David Nicholson.

All residents are invited to attend the council candidate forum to be held on Thursday, October 12, from 7 p.m. to approximately 8:30 p.m. It will be at the Linn-Mar High School Little Theater and people are asked to enter the building through the north entrance (Pride Rock).

The forum is hosted by MEDCO and the Marion Chamber of Commerce. It will have a question-and-answer format. In addition to questions from the two hosts, voters will be able to submit questions to a moderator as well.

The candidate filing period ended on September 21. Absentee election request forms can be downloaded online and sent to this address: Linn County Elections, 935 Second Street SW, Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

The last day the Election Department may send out ballots is Friday, November 3, 2017, at 5 p.m. and ballots mailed to that office must be postmarked by November 6, 2017 in order to be counted.

Early voting in the Election Office will begin on this Thursday, October 5, 2017 and run through Monday, November 6, 2017. The office is open from 8 a.m. through 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

On Election Day, polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Voting locations are the following:

Marion Public Library

Thomas Park Safe Room

Grace Baptist Church

Marion School Administration Building

Lutheran Church of the Resurrection

First Baptist Church of Marion

St. Paul's Lutheran Church

Squaw Creek Baptist Church

Ascension Lutheran Church

American Legion Post #298

Marion Christian Church

Lowe Park Arts and Environment Center

Christ Community Church

Faith Lutheran Church
Contact the Marion Times
808 6th St. Suite 1
Marion, Iowa 52302
P: (319) 377-7037
F: (319) 377-9535 | Marion Times | The Only Newspaper Serving Marion First
News | Sports | Opinions | Obituaries | Robins | Hiawatha | Archives | Business Directory | City News
Like the Marion Times on Facebook
Web Development by Brian McMillin, LLC
News Sports Opinions Obituaries Archives Business Directory City News Marion Times