Side Ad 1 Side Ad 2 Side Ad 3
Marion Times Header
Last 2017 City Council meeting held December 21
by Nancy Grindle Correspondent · January 4th, 2018

On December 21, three of Marion's City Council members made decisions on behalf of the City for the last time. They are Joe Spinks, who served as Mayor Pro Tem and represented Ward 2; Mary Lou Pazour who completed six terms on the council that evening; and Dave Nicholson, representing Ward 4, who was unable to arrive until 6:30 p.m.

Boy Scout Troop 555 led the Pledge of Allegiance at the beginning of the meeting.

In addition, Police Chief Joe McHale introduced new Police Officer Tyler Ayala Pagan and told of his many accomplishments. Mayor Nicolas AbouAssaly then administered the oath of office to Pagan.

Comments were made by the following citizens:

Dwight Hogan - regarding reallocation of LOST funds

Mike Pederson - about Marion Square Plaza and new library

Robert Buckley - about ordinance permitting large pole building

Among the more expensive items on the consent agenda, approved at the meeting, were the following:

Alburnett Road Extension, design contract - $417,450 (Snyder and Associates)

Property purchase, Alburnett Road Extension - $165,750 (Dennis C. Steffes)

CeMar Trail contract - $52,511.56 (Shoemaker Haaland)

3-year Cloud Service - $34,632 for police dept. and $142,614 for city (Involta)

The Marion Times will serve as the official newspaper of record for the City of Marion.

A number of land-related decisions were considered. A resolution to accept Briargate 6th Addition passed. Rathje Construction was awarded a contract for the Grant Wood Trail Extension from Highway 13 to 35th Street ($886,365.28).

Other items discussed in hearings and then as topics of further appropriate resolutions included the Echo Hill Rd. realignment between Winslow and Lucore, a preliminary site development plan for Hunter's Ridge North First Addition, and The Ridge at Indian Creek Addition.

Rene Gadelha resigned from the Planning and Zoning Commission so she would be free to assume her role as a Council Member as of January 1, 2018.

A number of mayoral appointments and re-appointments were recommended and passed unanimously.

The following appointments are new: JT Anderson, Sidewalk Advisory Committee; Jay Moore, Marion Arts Council; and Amanda Proper, Planning and Zoning Commission.

Others re-appointed to their current positions include Dennis Frevert, JR Blok, Jim Angerer, Judy Hull, Grant Guyer, James Hoth, John McIntosh, Kyle Martin, Terry Speral, Jillissa Moorman, Kevin Morgan, Craig Adamson, Sunshine McDonald, Mollie Lorenz, Marilyn Tormey, John McIntosh, and Ryan Sunderman.

During discussion time at the end of the meeting, council members and the mayor gave each other good wishes and hopes for happiness as they begin 2018.
Contact the Marion Times
808 6th St. Suite 1
Marion, Iowa 52302
P: (319) 377-7037
F: (319) 377-9535 | Marion Times | The Only Newspaper Serving Marion First
News | Sports | Opinions | Obituaries | Robins | Hiawatha | Archives | Business Directory | City News
Like the Marion Times on Facebook
Web Development by Brian McMillin, LLC
News Sports Opinions Obituaries Archives Business Directory City News Marion Times